One More Card

I would consider myself a casual churner. I (we) don’t go crazy like some people. I don’t do much if any manufactured spend. But I do understand the power of credit card sign up bonuses and other benefits that come with obtaining those cards. For years we have taken advantage of these perks by getting 2-3 cards per year and using the benefits for flights, hotels, lounges, etc. Friends and family always seem jealous but not usually enough to join us in the fun. I think there is still a healthy skepticism and misunderstanding about credit cards and credit in general out there.

It has been a few months since I got my last card, the Chase Sapphire Reserve. My wife and I both got that card back in the fall and we are now sitting on over 430,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points. We’ll leverage that hopefully in the next year on a fun trip.

Yesterday I got the Hilton Honors Surpass Card from American Express. Comes with a 100,000 point sign up bonus as well as Gold status and a free night at any property after your 1 year anniversary. Figured that is worth $75 a year.

Here is the breakdown of cards we currently have:

  • Chase Sapphire Reserve (2)
  • Chase Sapphire Preferred
  • Chase Sapphire
  • Hilton Honors Surpass
  • IHG Rewards Club Select
  • Local Bank Rewards Card
  • BankAmericard Cashback
  • Citi World Elite AAdvantage
  • Delta Skymiles Amex

Here is roughly our balances for miles and points:

  • Hilton HHonors – 100,000 points
  • IHG Points – 93,000 points
  • Delta Skymiles – 55,000 miles
  • American AAdvantage – 120,000 miles
  • United Mileage Plus – 65,000 miles
  • Chase Ultimate Rewards – 430,000 points

I still think there is a chance we’ll get a few more cards this year. Specifically my wife could use a Hotel card. Maybe the Marriott card that also has a 100,000 point bonus?

Leave a comment